ga('send', 'pageview');

Audrey’s Society Whirl: Russell & Danny Simmons’s Gala to Honor Tyler Perry and others

danny & russell simmons

Danny Simmons and Russell Simmons

*Russell Simmons & Danny Simmons present the 14th annual Art For Life benefit celebrating the creative energy of New York City youth and honoring individuals in the community for their career achievements and philanthropic work.  Proceeds from the Art For Life gala benefits the Foundation’s signature arts education and gallery programs, which directly serve over 2,300 students each year.

The fourteenth annual Art For Life Hamptons gala will kick off with cocktails on Saturday, July 27, 2013 at Fairview Farms, Bridgehampton at 6pm followed by dinner and program at 7pm.  Themed “A Field Of Dreams,” the social soiree will honor Samuel Englebardt, film producer and media investor, CEO, Demarest Films; William D. Johnson, co-founder and chairman, Demarest Films; Anne Pasternak, president and artistic director, Creative Time; and Tyler Perry, filmmaker and philanthropist.

Tyler Perry’s inspirational journey from the hard streets of New Orleans to the heights of Hollywood’s A-list is the stuff of American legend.   Born into poverty and raised in a household scarred by abuse, Tyler fought from a young age to find the strength, faith and perseverance that would later form the foundations of his much-acclaimed plays, films, books and shows.

Soledad O’Brien will host the event and Rashid Johnson is the featured artist with special performances by Estelle, Maxwell and Rick Ross.  DJ M.O.S. will provide the music.  Art For Life is executive produced by Ronnie Davis, Ronnie Davis Productions with special thanks to Roberto Cavalli.  Guests are encouraged to wear dreamy hues of peacock green, aquamarine and amethyst.

Honorary chairs: Star Jones and Michael Strahan.  Event chairs: Kimberley Hatchett, Crystal McCrary, Camilla Olsson and Richard & Lisa Plepler.  Art Auction Chairs:  Lucille Blair and Alberto Mugrabi.  Luxury auction chairs: Shamin Abas, Shamin Abas Public Relations and Angella Forbes, Forbes Public Relations.

The benefit committee is composed of Lala Anthony, Carol Archer, Kelly Bensimon, Kelly Brady, Brandsway Creative, Isolde Brielmaier, Chuck & Tracy Brymer, Tricia Clarke-Stone, Narrative, Miss Universe Olivia Culpo, Dr. Mark Drapeau, Microsoft, Mignon & Tim Edwards, Jamison Ernest, Yellow Fever Creative, Tiana Webb Evans, Rick Friedman, ArtHamptons, Adam Fields, ArtSpace, Rachel P. Goldstein, Agent of Change, Sara Herbert-Galloway & Barry Klarberg, Sanaa Lathan, Petra Nemcova, Larry Ossei-Mensah, The Medium Group, George Perez, Steve Rifkind, All Def Digital, Rachel Roy, Michael Skolnik, Bevy Smith, Rose Salem Tilford, Blackwave Group/Society Brands, Kehinde Wiley, and Judee Ann Williams, Creative Artists Agency

Sponsors of Art For Life gala include: Gold Sponsor-Bombay Sapphire; Silver Sponsor-Target; Decor Sponsor-DN Concepts; Online Auction Partner-Charitybuzz; Media Partner-Hamptons Magazine; Online Media, and Hamptons Mouthpiece.

Tickets: Individual tickets from $1,500; Tables of 10 from $15,000.  For additional ticket information, please contact: Tracey Doolin, Inez Weinstein Special Events, Inc. at 212.254.6677 or [email protected]  For online tickets

Visit online auction at #ArtForLife,  @rush_art

About Rush Philanthropic Arts Foundation
Rush Philanthropic Arts Foundation is dedicated to providing inner-city youth with significant exposure and access to the arts, and to offering exhibition opportunities for underrepresented artists and artists of color.  Rush was founded in 1995 by three brothers: Danny Simmons, visual artist and community builder; media mogul Russell Simmons; and Joseph “Rev. Run” Simmons of the legendary hip-hop group Run-DMC.  Their goal was to fill the gap that the disenfranchised and people of color faced in both accessing the arts and exhibition opportunities.

Over the past 16 years, Rush has developed a broad base of friends, collaborators and supporters dedicated to addressing these issues.  Designed to inspire students, provide positive alternatives to high risk behaviors and support increased academic performance, Rush Education programs directly serve 2,500 students annually.

In addition, each year Rush exhibits the work of 40 to 50 emerging and community-based artists in its galleries; welcomes over 10,000 gallery visitors; and provides unique opportunities for young people interested in careers in the arts.  Rush currently operates galleries and arts education programs at Rush Arts Gallery in Manhattan and Corridor Gallery in Brooklyn

Rush Philanthropic Arts Foundation: Board of Directors Officers: Russell Simmons, chairman and co-founder; Danny Simmons, vice chairman and co-founder; Javier Evans, president; Monica Petraglia McCabe, secretary; and Richard Slomovitz, treasurer.

Members at Large: Shamin Abas, Lucille Blair, Allison Weiss Brady, Derek Jenkins, Dr. Yasin N. Khan, MD, Stan Lathan, Marc J. Leder, Victor Matthews, Tamara Mellon, OBE, Brenda D. Neal, John B. Rhea, David Rosenberg, Joseph Simmons (co-founder), and Tangie Murray (executive director).

Diversity Affluence Founder Andrea Hoffman

*Diversity Affluence will host their 4th annual Diversity Affluence Brunch & Awards on Sunday, July 28, 2013 from 11am-3pm at B. Smith’s Restaurant in Sag Harbor, NY.  The by invitation only Brunch & Awards recognizes and celebrates the accomplishments of people from diverse backgrounds who have achieved success within their respective industries and individuals who have progressed the diversity and multicultural agendas in American culture.

Over 125 hand selected guests, primarily affluent African American physicians, attorneys, venture capitalists, investment bankers, entertainment, media and tech industry executives will attend the brunch to honor four prominent leaders, achievers and pioneers of diversity including Robert F. Smith, chairman & CEO of Vista Equity Partners, Alek Wek, United Nations Goodwill Ambassador, author & supermodel, and Aaron P. Dworkin, founder & president of the Sphinx Organization.

This year, corporate honoree M·A·C Cosmetics was added.  “Given their trailblazing efforts embracing women of color domestically and globally, I can’t think of a more deserving brand to honor,” says Andrea Hoffman, founder and CEO of Diversity Affluence.   John Demsey, group president, The Estée Lauder Companies Inc., will be accepting the award.

Actor Malik Yoba, award-winning star of Fox TV’s police drama “New York Under Cover,” will host the festivities.  Yoba also portrayed Gavin in Tyler Perry’s “Why Did I Get Married” and currently appears on the NBC TV’s series “Revolution.”  Culture Critic Amanda Seales will be on hand to act as social media and video hostess.

“Diversity Affluence is committed to raising awareness of the affluent ethnic consumers and related executives and brands that progress the diversity agenda,” says Hoffman.  …read more

Source: Eur Web

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.