ga('send', 'pageview');

The Open Championship 2013 Tee Times: Latest Day 1 News, Start Times

The British heatwave continues to beat down on Muirfield for the oldest major championship in professional golf.

As a selection of the world’s best golfers descend upon East Lothian for The British Open, Thursday’s tee times and pairings have been announced. As ever, plenty of mouthwatering trios have been placed together in a tournament that will test professional and amateur inclusions alike.

Current champion Ernie Els also won the last Open Championship to be played at Muirfield in 2002, making him an interesting prospect for the upcoming competition. He is grouped with U.S. Open champion Justin Rose and current world No. 8 Brandt Snedeker.

Three-time Open champion Tiger Woods is joined by 2010 U.S. Open winner Graeme McDowell. The Northern Irishman believes the freak weather is going to play a huge part in this year’s championship, as reported by The Independent. More used to the sun is Louis Oosthuizen, who joins Woods and McDowell in an intriguing group.

A total of 52 groups will be ready to tee off on July 18. Each player will have completed a practice tee on July 17 and will be ready to compete for the famous prize. Here are all of the Day 1 start times, as provided by The Open Championship’s official website:


Tee Time (ET)
Tee Time (UK)

Peter Senior, Lloyd Saltman, Oliver Fisher
1:32 a.m.
6:32 a.m.

Robert Karlsson, Todd Hamilton, Ben Stow
1:43 a.m.
6:43 a.m.

Thomas Aiken, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Bud Cauley

1:54 a.m.
6:54 a.m.

Mikko Ilonen, Brooks Koepka, Ashun Wu
2:05 a.m.
7:05 a.m.

David Duval, Bernd Wiesberger, Chris Wood
2:16 a.m.
7:16 a.m.

Scott Stallings, Stewart Cink, Richard McEvoy

2:27 a.m.
7:27 a.m.

K.J. Choi, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Jimmy Walker
2:38 a.m.
7:38 a.m.

Ben Curtis, Shane Lowry, Rafael Cabrera-Bello
2:49 a.m.
7:49 a.m.

Jonas Blixt, Brian Davis, Graham Delaet

3 a.m.
8 a.m.

Robert Garrigus, John Senden, Marc Warren
3:11 a.m.
8:11 a.m.

Martin Kaymer, Garrick Porteous, Jason Day
3:22 a.m.
8:22 a.m.

Carl Pettersson, Jason Dufner, David Lynn
3:33 a.m.
8:33 a.m.

Bubba Watson, Nicolas Colsaerts, Dustin Johnson
3:44 a.m.
8:44 a.m.

Nick Faldo, Tom Watson, Fred Couples
4 a.m.
9 a.m.

Justin Rose, Ernie Els, Brandt Snedeker

4:11 a.m.
9:11 a.m.

Ian Poulter, Keegan Bradley, Billy Horschel

4:22 a.m.
9:22 a.m.

Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano, Richard Sterne, Nick Watney

4:33 a.m.
9:33 a.m.

Rory McIlroy, Hideki Matsuyama, Phil Mickelson

4:44 a.m.
9:44 a.m.

Scott Piercy, Tim Clark, Kevin Streelman

4:55 a.m.
9:55 a.m.

Zach Johnson, Shingo Katayama, Thomas Bjorn
5:06 a.m.
10:06 a.m.

Angel Cabrera, Camilo Villegas, Tano Goya
5:17 a.m.
10:17 a.m.

George Coetzee, Ken Duke, Mark Calcavecchia

5:28 a.m.
10:28 a.m.

John Huh, Brendan Jones, Hyung-Sung Kim
5:39 a.m.
10:39 a.m.

Josh Teater, Steven Tiley, Jimmy Mullen
5:50 a.m.
10:50 a.m.

K.T. Kim, Steven Jeffress, Luke Guthrie
6:01 a.m.
11:01 a.m.

John Wade, Gareth Wright, Makoto Inoue

6:12 a.m.
11:12 a.m.

Danny Willett, Y.E. Yang, Johnson Wagner
6:33 a.m.
11:33 a.m.

Thaworn Wiratchant, Lucas Glover, Oscar Floren

6:44 a.m.
11:44 a.m.

Boo Weekley, Sandy Lyle, Niclas Fasth

6:55 a.m.
11:55 a.m.

Marcus Fraser, Grant Forrest, Mark O’Meara

7:06 a.m.
12:06 p.m.

Tom Lehman, Thongchai Jaidee, Fredrik Jacobson
7:17 a.m.
12:17 p.m.

Justin Leonard, Rhys Pugh, Marc Leishman

7:28 a.m.
12:28 p.m.

Alvaro Quiros, Kyle Stanley, Alexander Noren

7:39 a.m.
12:39 p.m.

Russell Henley, Jordan Spieth, Matthew Fitzpatrick
7:50 a.m.
12:50 p.m.

Padraig Harrington, Michael Thompson, Richie Ramsay
8:01 a.m.
1:01 p.m.

Vijay Singh, Darren Clarke, Martin Laird
8:12 a.m.
1:12 p.m.

Ryan Moore, Henrik Stenson, Steven Fox
8:23 a.m.
1:23 p.m.

Thorbjorn Olesen, Jim Furyk, Paul Lawrie

8:34 a.m.
1:34 p.m.

Geoff Ogilvy, Harris English, Stephen Gallacher

8:45 a.m.
1:45 p.m.

Lee Westwood, Charl Schwartzel, Sergio Garcia
9:01 a.m.
2:01 p.m.

Adam Scott, Matt Kuchar, Luke Donald
9:12 a.m.
2:12 p.m.

Rickie Fowler, Matteo Manassero, Hunter Mahan

9:23 a.m.
2:23 p.m.

Peter Hanson, Hiroyuki Fujita, Bill Haas
9:34 a.m.
2:34 p.m.

Tiger Woods, Graeme McDowell, Louis Oosthuizen

9:45 a.m.
2:45 p.m.

Webb Simpson, Branden Grace, Jamie Donaldson
9:56 a.m.
2:56 p.m.

Francesco Molinari, Toru Taniguchi, Bo Van Pelt
10:07 a.m.
3:07 p.m.

D.A. Points, Brett Rumford, Marcel Siem

10:18 a.m.
3:18 p.m.

George Murray, Mark Brown, Justin Harding
10:29 a.m.
3:29 p.m.

Gregory Bourdy, Scott Jamieson, Shiv Kapur

10:40 a.m.
3:40 p.m.

Scott Brown, Satoshi Kodaira, Gareth Maybin

10:51 a.m.
3:51 p.m.

Tyrrell Hatton, Eduardo de la Riva, Kenichi Kuboya

11:02 a.m.
4:02 p.m.

Stephen Dartnall, Darryn Lloyd, Daisuke Maruyama

11:13 a.m.
4:13 p.m.

Latest News

It’s been five long years since Tiger Woods last landed a major championship. Although the legendary American has had plenty of personal problems to contend with in that time, he will be itching to end a prolonged drought for glory.

According to Yahoo!, the 37-year-old is poised to repeat his 2006 Open-winning strategy by dropping the use of drivers. The Scottish course is extremely dry, and with Woods recently returning from a niggling elbow injury, this kind of tactical decision will set him in good stead to compete alongside other favourites such as Els, Rose, Phil Mickelson and Adam Scott.

Sky Sports reports Peter Hanson could miss the Open Championship starting tee on Thursday with a continuous back problem. The 2012 KLM …read more

Source: Bleacher Report

, , , ,

Comments are closed.